

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR
SECRETARY

December 22, 2023

The Honorable Patrick Pizzella Mayor, Village of Pinehurst Lead Planning Agency Sandhills Metropolitan Planning Organization 395 Magnolia Rd Pinehurst, NC 28374

Dear Mayor Pizzella:

In late December 2022, the U.S. Census Bureau recognized the Pinehurst-Southern Pines area in southern Moore County as an Urban Area (UA) with a population of over 50,000. Federal regulations require that a metropolitan planning organization (MPO) be designated to represent this urban area.

I have considered the memorandums of understanding as approved by all the member jurisdictions. By the power delegated by the Governor and based on the provisions of 23 CFR 450.310 (a) &(b), I am designating the Sandhills Metropolitan Planning Organization as the metropolitan planning agency responsible for carrying out the provisions of federal and state transportation planning regulations for the Pinehurst-Southern Pines Urban Area.

The Department looks forward to working with Sandhills MPO. If you have any questions, or we can be of assistance, please advise.

Sincerely,

J. R. Hopkins

J. Hopkins

J. Hopkins

J. Hopkins

J. Hopkins

Secretary, North Carolina Department of Transportation

Cc: Robert A. Farrell, Mayor, Town of Aberdeen
Janice Gregoric, Mayor, Village of Foxfire
Frank Quis, Commissioner, Moore County
Ronald McDonald, Mayor, Town of Pinebluff
Taylor Clement, Mayor, Town of Southern Pines
James Thompson, Mayor, Town of Taylortown
Pamela Harris, Mayor Pro Tem, Town of Whispering Pines

Mailing Address: NC DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY 1554 MAIL SERVICE CENTER RALEIGH, NC 27699-1554 Telephone: (919) 707-0900 Fax: (919) 733-9794

Location: 1. SOUTH WILMINGTON ST. RALEIGH, NC 27601

Website: www.ncdot.gov

Mayor Strickland December 22, 2023 Page 2

George Hoops, Planning and Program Development Manager, FHWA
Bill Marley, Planning and Environment Specialist, FHWA
Lisa Mathis, Member, Board of Transportation
Patrick Molamphy, Member, Board of Transportation
Reuben Blakley, PE, Division Engineer
Jamal Alavi, PE, Director, Transportation Planning Division
Alena Cook, PE, Unit Head, Transportation Planning Division
Scott Walston, PE, Eastern Piedmont Group Supervisor, Transportation Planning Division